New York · Born in SoHo · Roots in New York and Japan · Writing since 1999
YC monogramYOUNG COTTON
A curly fringe worn forward over a flannel overshirt, the hair the mask shelf is sold to repair

The Grooming Take · No. 19

The Grooming Take No. 19: The Technology Is Not Dosed

The hair itself, fringe forward in open light, at the head of a Take argued from the hair mask ranking: that Card's own hero, standing over an argument about what the masks claim to rebuild. The frame shows a wearer, not a jar: the photo bank holds no hair mask product photography, a gap the ranking names on its own page and the honesty section below admits in full.

Checked and updated October 2026

The thesis, up front: every record on the hair mask ranking is sold on a technology, a bond builder, a molecular repair system, a patented complex, and the technology is dosed on none of eight. A protein of any kind stands in the top half of the list on three of eight; a printed contact time stands on seven of eight, so the shelf prints the technology’s clock in full and its quantity nowhere. The winner wins on the fullest partial document on the shelf, its peptide ninth of 23, its dose printed by volume, its pH printed, its four minutes printed, at $44.12 an ounce, the dearest ounce on the page by a factor of nearly five. The jar sent home sells six months of damage repaired in one use with no bonding molecule of any kind on its fifteen-line list. The technology on this shelf is a story told in the name and the marketing. The document a buyer can check carries the clock, the seat and the price, everything except the dose.

The thesis: the technology is not dosed

Begin with the shelf’s flagship document, because its completeness is the argument in miniature. The K18 Leave-In Molecular Repair Hair Mask is the most documented record the hair shelf has produced: a maker’s list of 23 lines with its peptide, the sh-Oligopeptide-78 the house calls K18PEPTIDE, standing ninth and a hydrolyzed wheat protein tenth; a printed pH, 5.0 to 6.0; printed directions of an unusual exactitude, shampoo, do not condition, towel-dry, one to three pumps at about a millilitre a pump, wait four minutes, do not rinse. A buyer can learn from its maker’s page what the product is made of, in what order, at what acidity, in what volume, for how long. The one thing he cannot learn is how much of the technology he is buying. The peptide’s percentage stands nowhere: not on the bottle, not on the page, not in the FAQ that answers the alcohol charge in plain words and is plainly willing to be read closely. The mask wins its Card at 81 on the strength of that document, the fullest on the shelf, and the document is a portrait with the centre missing. The technology is the product’s name, its price and its reason to exist, and its dose is the one column its maker leaves blank.

The blank is not the winner’s eccentricity. It is the shelf’s unanimous practice, and the Card’s counts state it without assistance from this column. The named repair technology, stated as a printed percentage, stands on zero of eight records. The Olaplex No. 8 Bond Intense Moisture Mask carries the industry’s founding bond molecule, bis-aminopropyl diglycol dimaleate, a patented active whose name is the brand, and seats it twentieth of 53, undosed, on a list the maker’s own page does not print at all, graded here on retail renderings. The Briogeo seats its named bond technology, a hydrolyzed moringa extract, eighth of 40, the highest technology seat on the shelf, and doses it nowhere. The Living Proof goes one step further into the fog: its Smart Barrier HairTech is a blend name with no single molecule to seat, a technology that cannot be dosed because it cannot first be pointed at, on a list with no protein, no amino acid and no silicone anywhere. A protein of any kind stands in the top half of the list on three of eight records, and one of the three qualifies by a lone amino acid, the Olaplex’s arginine at twenty-first. Against this emptiness, set the shelf’s one full column: a printed contact time stands on seven of eight. Three to five minutes, five minutes, five to seven, ten. The shelf will tell a buyer exactly how long to expose his hair to its technologies. It will not tell him, on any bottle, how much technology is in the exposure.

Take No. 15 settled the arithmetic this column grades by: a dose is a strength multiplied by its contact, and a shelf that prints only one term has printed half a dose. There, on the rinse-off acid shelf, the printed term was the strength and the missing term was the minutes. The mask shelf is the same equation read from the other end. Here the minutes are printed, seven times in eight, with a care the acid shelf never showed, and the strength is missing, eight times in eight, without exception. Half a dose, printed as a whole one, in the opposite half. And the sibling issue, Take No. 18, supplies the reason the blank should not surprise anyone who has read this run: on the scalp shelf the dose existed where a statute compelled it, four records dosed under federal Drug Facts panels and exactly one dosing voluntarily, because a drug’s filing asks for the number. The mask shelf carries no drug records at all. Every bottle is a cosmetic, every technology a cosmetic claim, and no filing on the page asks any house for a percentage. So the compelled count is zero, as the category predicts, and the voluntary count is also zero, which the category does not predict and the marketing contradicts on every jar: eight houses sell a measurable-sounding technology, and not one measures it in print.

The completed form of the shelf stands at the bottom of the ranking, where completed forms usually stand in this run. The Pantene Pro-V Miracle Rescue Intensive Bond Repair Mask sells, in its copy, six months of damage visibly repaired in one use, the largest repair claim on the page, beside bond-building lipids, and its published list runs to fifteen lines. On those fifteen lines there is no protein, no peptide and no bonding molecule of any kind. The only bond-adjacent entry is a silicone standing third, bis-aminopropyl dimethicone, a conditioning silicone that shares a stem with the Olaplex’s molecule and does no bonding; the lone amino acid stands eighth; Fragrance stands ninth. The same record files the jar as a leave-in treatment in one bullet and prints rinse directions in the next, so the document cannot settle even the product’s class, let alone its dose. It stands at 44, sent home, at $1.29 an ounce, the shelf’s second-cheapest ounce carrying its largest claim. Between the winner and the skip, the shelf’s whole economy is visible: at $44.12 an ounce, the fullest document money can buy on this page, its technology unmeasured; at $1.29, the emptiest document, its technology absent. The dose is missing at both ends of the price range and at every point between, and a buyer who wants to know how much repair he is purchasing, in the only sense the word repair can be checked, has no document on the shelf to ask.

Nothing on this page is scored. Every score quoted here, every row, every price and every count is the hair mask ranking’s, Verdict Card No. 99, reproduced exactly as that Card published it: the K18 at 81, the Briogeo at 80, the Living Proof Moisture Rescue at 79, the SheaMoisture at 72, the Verb at 71, the Olaplex No. 8 at 66, the Kiehl’s Pak at 63, and the Pantene sent home at 44. The only arithmetic of this page’s own is sorting what the record prints: which term of the dose each record carries and which it omits, where each technology stands on its own list, and what each ounce costs against what it discloses. The brief for this issue carried the Card’s counts, and they survived the record, with the precisions the record itself insists on, that the protein count of three rests in one case on a single amino acid, that the sent-home list carries a bond-named silicone that is not a bonding molecule, and that the winner’s use dose is printed by volume rather than by strength, stated in the honesty section rather than absorbed, because a column about an unprinted number should be exact about the numbers it was handed.

The record, counted

Start with completeness, because this shelf, like the scalp shelf before it, is documented well enough to make its one blank an argument. Full ingredient lists published: eight of eight, with one disclosed exception in kind, the Olaplex’s list standing on retail renderings because its maker’s own page prints none. A Fragrance or Parfum entry: eight of eight, every record on the page scented and saying so in its list’s own order. A printed contact time: seven of eight, from the Briogeo’s three to five minutes to the Olaplex’s ten, with the SheaMoisture printing the shelf’s only heat protocol, up to thirty minutes under a cap, beside its five. Against that completeness, the technology column: a printed percentage for the named repair technology on zero of eight. Not low. Not scattered. Zero, on a shelf where every product is named for, priced by or marketed through the technology whose quantity is missing. A shelf that prints every clock, every list and every scent, and no dose, is not a shelf that fears print. It is a shelf that prints everything its category asks and one thing more, its minutes, and stops exactly where the claim would become a quantity.

The seats deserve their own count, because on this shelf the seat is the only proportion evidence in circulation, and the ranking is legible in it. The technologies stand: ninth of 23 on the winner, its peptide followed by a second protein at tenth, the fullest technology bench on the page; eighth of 40 on the Briogeo, the highest seat, its named bond extract ahead of the malic acid at ninth; twentieth of 53 on the Olaplex, its patented molecule behind a dimethicone at second, with a bench of amino acids running twenty-sixth to thirty-seventh behind it; and nowhere at all on the Living Proof, whose technology is a trade name for a blend the list does not itemise as a molecule. Below the technology shelf, the supporting evidence thins in step: the SheaMoisture’s hydrolyzed rice protein stands fifteenth of 27, below its own midpoint, its named honey nineteenth and not specified as manuka on the list; the Verb carries no protein of any kind across 39 lines, its record built on glycerin, silicones and ceramides; the Kiehl’s, sold under the word Reparative, carries no protein and no amino acid across its 18 lines, its named olive oil twelfth, and prints no contact time either, the one record on the shelf carrying neither term of the dose, neither the strength nor the clock. Read as a census the page is exact: the technologies cluster at the top of the ranking in the order of their documents, and they fade down the page into blends, benches and absences, and at no point in the descent does a percentage appear to interrupt the pattern.

Slicked, finished hair at studio distance, the surface every mask on the shelf is sold to produce
The finished surface, read at the distance a result is judged: a CREDITS-logged portrait frame standing here for the hair after the mask, the state every technology on the shelf promises to repair toward. No ranked jar is pictured here or anywhere on this page, because the bank holds no hair mask product photography; the frame shows the wearer, not a product, and the caption says so rather than dressing a portrait as evidence. · via Unsplash

The reformulation record is the count’s sharpest single document, because it shows what happens to a technology that was never dosed when its formula changes. The Briogeo stands on the current ranking in a new form, its name lengthened by the words with Bond Repair, and the Card prints both documents. The classic record: hydrolyzed proteins at fifteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth of 40, Fragrance thirty-seventh, avocado oil seventh, a clock of five to ten minutes. The current record: the named bond technology eighth, Fragrance twelfth, the hydrolyzed proteins pushed to eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth, the avocado gone, the clock cut to three to five minutes, with the copy claiming a result four times stronger in three. Everything a buyer can check moved: the seat rose, the scent climbed twenty-five places up the list, the minutes halved. The one thing that cannot be compared between the two jars is the technology’s quantity, because neither document prints it. A reformulation of a dosed product is a change of dose, readable at a glance. A reformulation of an undosed technology is a change of story, and the two jars, classic and Bond Repair, differ in every column except the one that would say whether the second contains more of what its name now advertises.

The value column closes the count, and on this shelf it closes it brutally. The ounces: the SheaMoisture at $1.13, the cheapest ranked; the sent-home Pantene at $1.29; the Verb at $3.24; the Kiehl’s at $4.17; the Living Proof at $4.75; the Briogeo at $4.88; the Olaplex at $9.09; and the winner at $44.12, nearly five times the next dearest and thirty-nine times the cheapest. The price of an ounce on this page carries no information about the quantity of technology in it, because that quantity is printed nowhere, and the ranking’s own rows say what the price is actually buying at the top: the winner’s value row is 3 of 15, the lowest on the shelf, while its honesty row of 28 is the highest. What $44.12 purchases is the fullest document, the peptide’s seat, the printed pH, the printed clock, the metered pump, everything around the dose. The desk prints the symmetry because the shelf insists on it: the dearest ounce and the cheapest claim on the page share the same blank, and a market in which the technology’s quantity is unprinted at $1.29 and at $44.12 alike is a market pricing the story’s production values, not the ingredient. The ingredient’s price cannot be computed from any document the buyer is handed, and that, precisely, is the shelf’s condition.

What the unmeasured technology costs

The first cost is comparison itself, the instrument this entire site exists to hand its reader. Eight technologies stand on this shelf under eight kinds of name: a peptide with a trade name, a patented maleate molecule, a trademarked repair system, a moringa extract promoted to a bond technology, a blend name with no molecule, a pair of ceramides, a reparative promise with no protein behind it, and a bond claim with no molecule at all. With no quantity printed for any of them, the technologies cannot be compared as technologies. They can be compared as documents, seats, clocks, prices and houses, and the Card compares them exactly so, which is why its winner is a document title and not a strength title. The buyer who asks the shelf’s own question, which of these jars contains the most repair, is asking the one question the shelf’s paperwork is organised never to answer. Every other column a buyer might shop by, scent, texture, protein, silicone, price, frequency, is printed somewhere. The headline attribute is the hole in the middle of the table, and the hole is uniform, which is what makes it a system rather than a series of oversights.

The second cost is paid at the reformulation, and the Briogeo’s two records are its receipt. When a maker improves, cheapens or rebuilds an undosed technology, no document records the change in the term the product is sold on. The seat can move and the clock can halve, as both did, and the buyer comparing the classic jar in his bathroom against the Bond Repair jar on the shelf has lists that tell him the formula changed and no figure that tells him whether the change ran toward the technology or away from it. A dosed shelf disciplines its makers in the open: a percentage lowered is a fact a rival, a reviewer or a column can print, and the scalp shelf showed a house’s drug and cosmetic documents disciplining each other inside one catalogue for exactly that reason. An undosed shelf disciplines nobody. The name persists, the claim persists, the story improves, and the quantity, whatever it was, is whatever it now is, and the only record of the difference is a seat on a list that Take No. 17 warned is a proportion and not a proof. Each silent reformulation teaches the watching formulators the same lesson the scalp shelf’s allowance taught: the number is never the maker’s problem, because on this shelf there is no number to answer for.

The third cost is the corruption of price as a signal, in both directions at once. At the top, a buyer paying $44.12 an ounce cannot verify that he is paying for more technology rather than for a better document about an ordinary quantity of it, and the Card’s rows, which grade the document at 28 and the value at 3, print that uncertainty as the winner’s own profile. At the bottom, a buyer paying $1.29 an ounce for six months of damage repaired in one use cannot verify that he is buying any technology at all, and on that record he is not: the molecule is absent, not merely unmeasured. Between the two, the mid-shelf’s honest documents, the Briogeo’s seated extract, the Living Proof’s printed pH, the SheaMoisture’s full list at $1.13 an ounce, are priced by altitude and format because they cannot be priced by content. A shelf that will not print its quantities cannot have honest prices, only confident ones, and the confidence is the product. The technology’s absence from the document is not a gap in the marketing. On the evidence of these eight records, it is the condition that lets the marketing be priced as it is.

The other side, stated fairly

The case against this Take is a serious one, and it runs in three parts. First: a proprietary technology’s dose is its formula, and the formula is the asset. A peptide system or a patented molecule represents years of development and a defensible market position; printing its percentage hands every competitor the recipe’s deciding figure and invites a copy built to the same number by Friday. What is sold is the effect, and the effect is judged by use, by the hair in the hand after four minutes, not by a list position or a quantity in a table; a desk that grades documents has mistaken the product for its paperwork, and the buyer who wants to know whether the technology works has a test available to him that no percentage can replace, which is using it. Second: these molecules are potent at low dose by design. A peptide active at a fraction of a percent, a bond molecule working at its formulated range, will stand low on a list precisely because it needs so little room; a position of ninth or twentieth is consistent with full strength, and a printed percentage, read by a buyer with no sense of one molecule’s working range against another’s, would mislead more than the silence does, inviting exactly the naive cross-bottle arithmetic this column has spent seven issues warning against, 2% of one technology spent against 0.5% of an unrelated one as if the figures were the same kind of fact. Third: for a rinse-out or timed system, the clock is the dose instruction. The variable the user controls is time, and the shelf prints it on seven of eight records, four minutes, five minutes, ten, with frequencies beside them; a drug’s directions work the same way in the part the patient controls, and the mask shelf is, by the standard of Take No. 8, the best-instructed shelf in the run. The minutes are not half the dose. They are the half the buyer administers, printed in full.

Each part is true about something, and the record answers each on its own ground. To the trade secret: conceded that a formula is an asset, and that competitors are the last audience a percentage would inform, since a rival laboratory can assay a jar off the shelf more precisely than any label would tell it. The secrecy a printed percentage would actually breach is not the competitor’s ignorance but the buyer’s, and the houses’ own behaviour shows they know the difference: the technology’s identity is not secret at all. It stands in the product’s name, in its trademark, in its marketing, and on the list under its INCI name, ninth, eighth, twentieth, printed for anyone to read. What is withheld is only the quantity, the one term that would let the buyer weigh the claim, and a house cannot spend a molecule as its headline and shelter it as its secret in the same document. A trade secret may protect a formula. It cannot also be the advertisement and be exempt from the record the advertisement invites the buyer to check. The scalp shelf’s volunteer printed three percentages beside its own trade-named complex, FluidPure at 2.5%, without surrendering anything its rivals did not already hold; secrecy, on this record, is a choice about the buyer, not a necessity against the competitor.

To the low-dose limb, the strongest of the three: conceded in full as chemistry, and this page’s own questions print the concession before the counter can raise it. A seat is a proportion, not a potency, and nothing here grades a ninth-place peptide as weak. But the conclusion the defence draws, that silence protects the buyer from a misleading number, has the shelf’s evidence backwards. The buyer is comparing these technologies now, today, on the only terms left to him: the name, the story, the seat and the price, a comparison with no quantities in it at all, in which $44.12 reads as potency and $1.29 reads as thrift and neither reading can be checked. A printed percentage with the molecule named, beside the clock the shelf already prints, is the document in which a working range can be learned, the same third thing the scalp shelf’s winner printed between a bare number and none. And the houses cannot argue that position is meaningless to buyers while printing position-sensitive claims of their own: bond repair stands in two product names on this shelf, a technology promoted into a name is a seat argued in public, and the desk that grades the seat as evidence is using the sellers’ own currency. Silence does not prevent the naive comparison. It guarantees the comparison happens on story and price, the two least honest columns on the page.

To the clock limb: the minutes are real, they are printed, and this Take’s parent settled what they are. Take No. 15 ruled that a dose is a strength multiplied by its contact, and that a shelf printing one term has printed half a dose; the mask shelf is that rule’s mirror image, and the mirror does not flatter it. A drug’s directions, the counter’s own comparison, print both terms together: the strength on the panel and the schedule in the directions, 1% applied twice a week, each meaningless as an instruction without the other. The mask buyer is told to expose his hair for four minutes to a quantity nobody states, and the one record that comes closest to a complete instruction, the winner, prints its dose by volume, pumps of a millilitre, which measures the product, not the technology in it. Seven printed clocks and zero printed strengths is the shelf’s exact condition, and it is not an instruction set. It is a timer attached to a story, and the story is the part that is sold.

The Take Rule

Grade a technology by the terms it prints, and count a technology that prints its clock and withholds its quantity as a claim with a timer on it. On this shelf the named technology is dosed on none of eight, a protein stands in the top half on three of eight, a clock stands on seven of eight, and the fullest document stands at $44.12 an ounce with its peptide unmeasured, so buy the record whose document is most complete around the blank, read the seat as a proportion and never as a proof, and let the first house that prints its technology’s percentage set the standard every clock on the shelf is graded against.

The picks, as published on the Card

ItemThe recordPrice, as published
K18 Leave-In Molecular Repair Hair Mask The winner, 81: its peptide ninth of 23 with a hydrolyzed wheat protein tenth, pH 5.0 to 6.0 printed, a four-minute clock printed, its dose printed by volume at one to three pumps, its technology’s percentage printed nowhere; the shelf’s dearest ounce and its lowest value row, 3 of 15 $75.00 for 50 ml (1.7 fl oz) at the maker (about $44.12 an ounce)
Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask with Bond Repair The highest technology seat, 80: its named bond extract eighth of 40 on the current record, the classic record printed beside it with its proteins at fifteenth to seventeenth and its clock at five to ten minutes against the current three to five, Fragrance climbed from thirty-seventh to twelfth between the two documents $39.00 for 8.0 oz at Ulta (about $4.88 an ounce)
Living Proof Moisture Rescue Mask The molecule-less technology, 79: 42 lines with no protein, no amino acid and no silicone anywhere, its Smart Barrier HairTech a blend name with no molecule to seat, pH 4.0 to 5.5 printed beside a five-minute clock; graded in the seat the retired Restore record vacated, the swap printed on the Card $38.00 for 8 oz at the maker (about $4.75 an ounce)
SheaMoisture Manuka Honey & Mafura Oil Intensive Hydration Hair Masque The attainable document, 72: coconut third and shea fourth of 27, its hydrolyzed rice protein fifteenth, its named honey nineteenth and not specified as manuka on the list, the shelf’s only printed heat protocol beside its five minutes; the cheapest ounce ranked $12.99 for 11.5 oz at Target (about $1.13 an ounce)
Verb Hydrate Mask The protein-less record, 71: 39 lines with no protein of any kind, glycerin second, dimethicone fifth, its ceramides sixteenth and seventeenth, Parfum thirty-first, a clock of five to seven minutes; renamed from the retired Hydrating Mask record, the plurality printed $22.00 for 6.8 fl oz at Ulta (about $3.24 an ounce)
Olaplex No. 8 Bond Intense Moisture Mask The founding molecule, unmeasured, 66: dimethicone second of 53, the patented bond molecule twentieth and undosed, arginine twenty-first, the amino bench behind it, Fragrance fiftieth, a ten-minute clock; graded on retail renderings, its maker’s own page printing no list, disclosed on its card $30.00 for 3.3 fl oz at Shopbop (about $9.09 an ounce)
Kiehl’s Olive Fruit Oil Deeply Reparative Hair Pak Neither term, 63: 18 lines with no protein or amino acid anywhere under the word Reparative, olive fruit oil twelfth, Parfum tenth, and no printed contact time on any record read; pill-less, its exact door evaded capture $35.00 for 8.4 fl oz in maker storefront listings (about $4.17 an ounce); no buy pill
Pantene Pro-V Miracle Rescue Intensive Bond Repair Mask Sent home, 44: six months of damage repaired in one use, sold over a fifteen-line list with no protein, peptide or bonding molecule on it, a bond-named silicone third, histidine eighth, Fragrance ninth, and its class contradicted between its own bullets; no rows and no buy pill $12.99 for 10.1 oz at GIANT (about $1.29 an ounce); no buy pill

The discipline for using any of them is the Card’s, unchanged: read the seat before the story, spend the clock exactly as printed, and treat every technology on the shelf as a claim until its maker prints its quantity. The standing offer of this column applies to the shelf in its own terms: the first house to print its technology’s percentage on the record the buyer reads, with its clock and its class beside it, will be named here, at the top of a re-argued column, the same day its record can be read. The proof that a number can survive print stands on the sibling shelf, where a cosmetic house printed three percentages voluntarily and outscored four federal panels, and the proof that these houses keep the figures stands in every patent and trademark they file for the technologies themselves. The quantities exist in every maker’s files. On this shelf they are simply never addressed to the buyer, and the clock ticks beside the blank.

What this page does not claim

On the evidence. This page scores nothing and tests nothing. Every score, row, price, position and count is Verdict Card No. 99’s, reproduced exactly as that Card published it, and the Card’s own evidence discipline stands behind it: the desk grades published ingredient lists in the maker’s order, makers’ claims graded as claims, reported wear labelled as reported wherever it appears, and prices per ounce with the arithmetic printed, and asserts nothing about what any peptide, molecule or complex does to any hair. The counts this Take adds, the sorting of the eight records by which term of the dose each prints, are counts of the Card’s printed record and are printed as counts so they can be recounted. Where the Card’s record rests on a document a maker revises, the graded version is the one named: the Briogeo on its current Bond Repair record with the classic printed beside it, the Olaplex on retail renderings because its maker prints no list, the K18 on its maker’s 23-line list against a 21-line retail rendering that agrees on the seats.

On the brief’s premises, checked against the record. This issue was briefed on the Card’s technology census, and the census survived the record, which the honesty section prints because the column’s habit is to print its confirmations and its corrections in the same place. Survived: the named repair technology dosed on none of eight; a protein of any kind in the top half of the list on three of eight; a printed contact time on seven of eight; the winner winning on the fullest partial document, its peptide ninth of 23, its dose printed by volume, its pH and its four-minute clock printed, at $44.12 an ounce, the shelf’s dearest; and the sent-home jar selling six months of damage repaired in one use with no bonding molecule on its fifteen-line list. Three precisions the record adds, printed rather than absorbed. First, the protein count of three is a generous count and the page says so wherever it is used: it admits any hydrolyzed protein, peptide, keratin or free amino acid, and one of the three, the Olaplex, qualifies by its lone arginine at twenty-first alone; on the stricter count, a hydrolyzed protein or peptide in the top half, the figure is two of eight. Second, the sent-home list is not innocent of the word bond: a silicone sharing the patented molecule’s stem, bis-aminopropyl dimethicone, stands third on it, and the charge is stated exactly, that the entry is a conditioning silicone and not a bonding molecule, and that no protein, peptide or bonding molecule of any kind stands on the list at all. Third, the winner’s printed dose is a volume, one to three pumps, and measures the product dispensed, not the peptide delivered; the brief’s phrase is kept because it is the record’s, and the distinction is printed here so the column does not commit the conflation it charges. One count is stated exactly: of the eight records, seven print the clock, three seat a protein in the top half, and none prints the strength.

On what hair masks do. Nothing on this page says any technology repairs, bonds or rebuilds any hair, and nothing says any seat, percentage or minute count is the right dose for any reader; the repair figures quoted from the records, six months of damage in one use, four times stronger in three minutes, are quoted as makers’ claims graded as claims on their Card, not as findings of this desk. Nothing here grades a low seat as a weak product: a position is a proportion, and the page’s own questions print the concession that these molecules are formulated to work at small fractions. Efficacy is graded nowhere here. What is graded is the document the buyer is handed: whether the technology is dosed, where it stands, what clock stands beside it, and what the ounce costs against what it discloses. The desk opened no jar and assayed no formula for this issue. The argument is about what is printed for a reader to read before the purchase, and on eight records what is printed is the clock nearly everywhere, the seat where a molecule exists to seat, and the quantity nowhere.

On the photographs, and on the record moving. There are no photographs of ranked products on this page because there are none to print: the photo bank holds no hair mask or deep conditioner product photography, and no grooming product or bathroom-shelf photography of any kind, a gap the ranking names on its own page, and the hero and figure here are frames of the subject itself, the hair mask ranking’s own hero and a portrait of finished hair, captioned for what they show, which is a wearer, not a product. The record itself moves underneath this argument: the Briogeo circulates in two documents, classic and Bond Repair, both printed on its card; the Living Proof’s seat was swapped mid-record when the briefed Restore mask left the maker’s own store and the Moisture Rescue was graded in its place; the Kiehl’s door evaded capture and is owed to the November pass with the Olaplex’s maker-page list; the Verb circulates under two formula codes with its seats agreeing, the plurality printed; and the K18’s list stands at 23 lines on its maker’s page against 21 at retail, the tail allergens differing. The scores and the rule stand as published until a cited record changes; when one does, the Card moves first and this Take is re-argued from it, in the open.

Questions, answered from the record

Why does no hair mask print the strength of its repair technology?

On the record of Verdict Card No. 99, because nothing asks it to and no house chooses to. The named repair technology, the bond builders, the molecular repair systems, the patented complexes, stands as a printed percentage on 0 of 8 records. The technologies are present on the lists, where they can be seated: the winner’s peptide stands ninth of 23, the Olaplex’s patented bond molecule twentieth of 53, the Briogeo’s named bond extract eighth of 40. What is missing is only the quantity. The scalp shelf of Card No. 100 showed the other half of the rule: where a statute files a bottle as a drug, the dose is printed by law, and one cosmetic house printed it voluntarily and won. The mask shelf carries no drug records at all, every bottle a cosmetic, so the compelled count is zero, and the voluntary count, on eight records sold on their technologies, is also zero.

What is the best hair mask on this site’s record?

The K18 Leave-In Molecular Repair Hair Mask, at 81 on Verdict Card No. 99: its peptide stands ninth of 23 on the maker’s own list, with a hydrolyzed wheat protein tenth, its pH is printed at 5.0 to 6.0, its four-minute clock is printed, and its dose is printed by volume, one to three pumps at about a millilitre a pump, the fullest partial document on the shelf. It is also the shelf’s dearest ounce by a factor of nearly five, $75.00 for 50 ml at the maker, about $44.12 an ounce, and its value row stands at 3 of 15, the shelf’s lowest. Behind it the Briogeo stands at 80 with its named bond technology eighth of 40, and the Living Proof Moisture Rescue at 79, the record with no protein and no silicone anywhere. The winner wins on the completeness of a document that still, like all eight, prints no percentage for its technology.

Does a technology standing low on a list mean a weak product?

Not on any evidence this desk grades, and this page claims nothing of the kind. A list position is a proportion, not a potency: peptides and bond molecules are formulated to work at small fractions, and a peptide at ninth or a molecule at twentieth can be a full working dose at its molecule’s range. The charge is narrower and is about the document. Where the percentage is printed nowhere, the buyer cannot tell a full working dose from a garnish, and neither can this desk, which is why the Card grades the seat, the clock and the document rather than the strength. What the record does show is that the houses argue by seat themselves when it suits them: bond repair stands in two product names on the shelf, and the technology that stands highest, eighth of 40, belongs to the ranking’s second record. Position is spent as evidence by the sellers. It is graded as evidence here, no further.

Is the winner worth $44.12 an ounce?

The Card’s own rows give the honest shape of it: the K18’s value row is 3 of 15, the lowest on the shelf, and it wins the Card anyway, on a document no rival completes. Two qualifications stand on its card. The ounce is metered more slowly than any rival’s: the bottle is 50 ml spent a pump at a time, one to three pumps of about a millilitre a use, where the tubs beside it are spent by the handful, so the dearest ounce is also the most rationed. And the shelf prints complete-enough documents far cheaper: the Briogeo at 80 and $4.88 an ounce, the Living Proof at 79 and $4.75, the SheaMoisture at 72 and $1.13, the cheapest ounce ranked. What the $44.12 does not buy, on this record, is a printed dose for the peptide it is sold on: no ounce on the page does, at any price, and that is the shelf’s finding, not the winner’s defect alone.

Why was the Pantene sent home?

Because it is the shelf’s argument in its completed form: the largest claim carried by the emptiest document. The Pantene Pro-V Miracle Rescue Intensive Bond Repair Mask sells, in its maker’s copy, six months of damage visibly repaired in one use, and bond-building lipids, and its published list runs to fifteen lines with no protein, no peptide and no bonding molecule of any kind on it. The only bond-adjacent entry is a silicone standing third, bis-aminopropyl dimethicone, which shares a stem with the Olaplex’s patented molecule and none of its chemistry’s claim; the lone amino acid, histidine, stands eighth; Fragrance stands ninth. The same record files the jar as a leave-in treatment in one bullet and prints rinse directions in the next. It stands at 44 on Verdict Card No. 99, at $12.99 for 10.1 oz at GIANT, with no buy pill.

What would change this Take?

One printed percentage. The column reopens the day any house on this shelf prints its technology’s dose, a peptide, a bond molecule or a named complex stated as a quantity on the record the buyer reads, so the shelf’s eight technologies can be compared as quantities and not only as seats; or the day a maker prints its working range beside the seat, which would answer the low-dose defence in the maker’s own hand; or the day the mask Card’s next pass finds the dosed count off zero of eight in either direction. Until then the record stands as Card No. 99 printed it in October 2026: the named technology dosed on none of eight, a protein in the top half on three of eight, a printed clock on seven of eight, and the fullest document on the shelf standing at $44.12 an ounce with its peptide unmeasured like all the rest.

Next

The record this issue argues from stands in full at the hair mask ranking, Verdict Card No. 99, where every list quoted here is printed in its maker’s order and every jar carries its own card. The hair shelf around it continues at the scalp Card, No. 100, where the dose was sorted by legal category, the hair oil Card, No. 98, where the named oil stood fifth behind its system, the shampoo Card, No. 70, and the conditioner Card, No. 71, where the pair was graded as strangers. The kinship runs three ways: Take No. 15 is the parent argument, the rinse is not the dose, since there the rinse-off shelf printed the strength and owed the minutes, a percentage being a strength and a dose only the strength multiplied by its contact, while here the mask shelf prints the contact on seven of eight and the strength on none, the same half dose wearing the other half’s clothes, so that between the parent shelf and this one a buyer can assemble every term of every dose except the one pairing any single bottle prints together; Take No. 7 is the grandparent, the number is not the dose, since there a complete rating stood printed on every bottle with the dose that earned it standing nowhere beside it, while here the rating itself is the technology, the number in the name and the marketing, and the dose that would grade it is the percentage standing nowhere on eight bottles, the missing half become the whole claim; and Take No. 18 is the nearest sibling, the law prints the number, since there the dose existed entire because a statute filed the bottles as drugs and compelled it, four compelled and one voluntary, while here no law compels a cosmetic technology at all and no house volunteers, every bottle on the shelf a cosmetic and the compelled count and the voluntary count both zero, so the number the sibling found waiting on a filing is here absent in both categories, and the technology is sold in the space where the filing would have been. Next, The Grooming Take No. 20, The Figure Is Not a Scale: the pomade shelf prints its hold as a figure in two houses and as an adjective in six, each figure scaled only across its own house’s line, four steps in one house and ten points in the other, with no shared test behind either, so the figure that this shelf’s parent issue asked for has arrived and cannot be spent across the shelf, one jar’s 4 already circulating as a retailer’s 9 of 10, and the sent-home jar is named for an alcohol measure, 90 Proof, on a 39-line list that contains no alcohol for the number to measure. The franchise so far: No. 1, grooming is sold by the step and works by the habit; No. 2, the number nobody prints; No. 3, one tube, two honesties; No. 4, the pair graded as one record; No. 5, the name is not the number; No. 6, the name is not in the list; No. 7, the number is not the dose; No. 8, the minute is the dose; No. 9, the ritual is not an ingredient; No. 10, the hold is an adjective; No. 11, the name is not an ingredient; No. 12, the burn is not the proof; No. 13, the copy is not the list; No. 14, the number is in another country; No. 15, the rinse is not the dose; No. 16, the step is not a species; No. 17, the oil stands fifth; No. 18, the law prints the number; No. 20, the figure is not a scale. How every score on this site is built is set out in the methodology. The Takes continue by number; the next one starts, as this one did, from a record that already exists or a blank that is printed as one.